about us photo

The best in contemporary short fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and art.


Since its founding in 2004 by graduate students at the University of Texas at Austin, Bat City Review has earned a reputation as one of the best literary annuals.

The Journal has featured Aimee Bender, George Saunders, Matthew Zapruder, Mary Ruefle, Dean Young, James Tate, Helena Maria Viramontes, Paul Muldoon, C. K. Williams, Billy Collins, Tomaz Salamun, Georgi Tenev, Mary Jo Bang, Colm Toibin, Gina Ochsner, Mahmoud Darwish, and many others. Our writers’ achievements include a National Book Award, a Pulitzer Prize, a L.A. Times Novel of the Year, a Lenin Peace Prize, and a Poet Laureateship of the United States.